Skip to content

Challenge No.3 – the end

February 14, 2010

I made it.

finished project (click for a bigger version)

What did I do?

This week I concentrated my creativity on one project: Finishing a series of 5 character portraits in watercolour.

When I started on Monday I had one portrait and the lineart for another.

starting point

Here I show you some steps of the process.

colouring portrait no.2

sketch for no.3

sketch for no.4

workplace

I use the computer to flip the lineart to check if I got all proportions etc. right.

sketches, colour sketches etc.

What did I learn?

Well, it’s tempting to cancel appointements just to make the deadline. I’m proud however that I only cancelled one – for other reasons.

Also, you should check if you have all the material you may need for your project. DUH! some of you might think, but I managed to run out of the paper in the special size I was using and had to cut a larger paper in the right size for the last illustration. Fail. 😀

Conclusion

Without this challenge I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t have finished this project. I like to work with a schedule. Actually I’m surprised how well this went.

However, creativity tends to be unstable… and my real life is at the moment pretty quiet. I guess it was half inspiration and the other half good timing which let me finish this challenge successfully.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

