Skip to content

Challenge No.6 – the end

March 14, 2010

Another challenge has ended and I must confess I’m quite happy that it is over. After six paintings of the same motif … I have difficulties to still appreciate it.

What did I do?

I wanted to explore one motif in various media and this was my chosen motif:

moon & sky

I chose coloured pencils, acrylics, watercolours, pastels, oil paint and … digital media.

Courageously I started with my least favourite …

coloured pencils

And it was hard. I noticed that similar to pastels it’s probably easier if you have the exact colour you want because mixing the colour you want is quite difficult. I’m still no friend of coloured pencils, but I feel I might have to give them another chance later this year. They might be applicable for some motifs.

The next day I went to the shop to get myself ready for the next media: I bought a box of acrylic paint, a canvas, proper brushes …

shopping

and afterwards went to the library to get a book about painting with acrylics because as a matter of fact I have almost no experience with acrylics. I thought using them might be very similar to oil painting but I was surprised to realise that to me their relation to watercolours was more striking.

acrylic

Next, I stumbled into digital art. I have a love/hate-relationship with digital media and I’m determined to one day conquer Photoshop and Painter… sadly it is not this day.

Photoshop

I tried to keep the time amount I was using for one media the same, and it worked fine except for this one. I could spent my life on a PSD.file and not finish anything. Oh well, I tried.

Naturally, I went back to my favourite media after the digital experience. Routine work.

watercolours

On Friday the pastels had their comeback and I struggled while using them. Didn’t have the right colours and the size was too small. Probably I should have made use of the pastels in pencil form for the details.

pastels

My final attempt with the same motif was oil paint. I use them occasionally, last year I did two oil paintings.

oil paint

Conclusion

If I had to pick a favourite I think I would choose the one done with acrylic paint -which is fascinanting because I’ve never used acrylics before. A real discovery.

I also like the oil painting and see potential in the digital one and even in the one with coloured pencils.

I’m disappointed with the pastels and …even though it hurts to admit it, I’m bored with my watercolour attempt.

I’m not sure yet how this outcome might influence my artistic work. It is certain, however, that I’ve learned a lot from this challenge and that there will most definitely be an influence.

Last but not least, I really like to have done this series and to compare the media among one another. I find it really interesting.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 10:28 pm

    I also like the acrylic best. I think it is because I like the color and strokes at the bottom of the painting better than the others. This is a very interesting challenge. Is it part of a class or is it one you gave yourself?

    • March 15, 2010 10:02 am

      Thank you for your comment! It’s the first one for this blog!

      This whole blog is about challenges I give myself. I figured that might be the best way for me to develope my skills, as I don’t have the funds to visit an art school at the moment.

Leave a Reply

