Skip to content

new project and 6 new layers

June 20, 2010

It’s this time of the week again!

Before I show you how my oilpainting looks like after layer 19 (still not finished), I want to introduce to you a new project of mine. It started some weeks ago and is a co-project with one of my success-team members, who is writing beautiful fairy-tales set in the orient. We came up with the idea to let me to do some illustrations for the stories. It’s exactly the kind of work I love to do!

I start with some doodles to develop the idea I have in my mind after reading a scene. I never have to think hard about which scene to illustrate, I just know which one.

sketches

Then I transfer the final idea on watercolour paper and the painting process starts.

painting

Eventually it’s finished.

I’m looking forward to working on this project which is now officially project no.2.

And now an update for project no.1: I did  6 new layers this week. I still enjoy it a lot, however it gets more and more complicated.

layer 15

This is how it works:

details

And this is were I am at the moment:

layer 19

Actually I’m a bit scared now when I pick up the brush. With every new layer the possibility to destroy the composition is given and that is scary. Clouds are after all not the easiest topic, I’m afraid.

I hope I’ll be able to finish it by the end of next week!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

