Skip to content

new & old – Fanart

August 29, 2010

One of the best ways to stay productive and challenge yourself is in my opinion doing some fanart. It offers plenty of material to work with but leaves enough space for creative freedom. Plus: a lot of people enjoy it!

My most productive time before 2010 was when I was involved in the Harry Potter fandom. With the last book it went quiet in the fandom, however I had done an illustration of my favourite moment of the last book in 2007 and always wanted to give the scene another try. At that time I didn’t feel confident enough with watercolours to use them for a scene set at night.

That’s what I did back then, done with pencils and coloured in Photoshop:

I still like the expression of the illustration, however I was curious about how I would interpret the scene today and if this time I would be able to do it  with Watercolours:

The forest again, chapter 34

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Looking at them now, I don’t feel like it is possible to compare them with each other. They are so different. But it was a long overdue experiment and I’m glad I did it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

